Reviews

Reviews for The Light of Hidden Flowers

“Handford’s third novel (after Acts of Contrition and Daughters for a Time) centers on identity and how the people in our lives shape our choices… Fans of Carrie Brown and Helen Simonson will enjoy this quietly moving tale.” —Library Journal

 

“A deftly crafted and deeply engaging story from beginning to end, The Light of Hidden Flowers is another superbly written novel by Jennifer Handford and very highly recommended for community library General Fiction collections.” —Midwest Book Review

 

In The Light of Hidden Flowers, “Missy finds the courage to live life for herself and rekindle lost love.” —Northern Virginia Magazine

 

“The Light of Hidden Flowers is a special book in the realm of self-discovery fiction. Handford has a wonderful set of skills put to use in the novel form, from smart pacing to a delightful knack for metaphors and a great capacity for warmth. None of her characters feel contrived, most especially – and importantly – our protagonist. Missy is a relatable and deeply genuine character, flawed and humble and human in a particularly endearing way. In a culture that praises its extroverts and admonishes its introverts to “put themselves out there more,” Missy is a reminder of the admirable bravery it takes to be quiet in a loud world, to be openly scared and vulnerable and to still persevere.” —Literary Inklings

 

“An epic journey through love, war, family and fate. An enjoyable, interesting read with deftly drawn characters that leap to life. This book will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.” —Adele Levine, bestselling author of Run, Don’t Walk: The Curious and Courageous Life Inside Walter Reed Army Medical Center

 

“Not to sound all Oprah, but The Light of Hidden Flowers is one of those wonderful books that really makes you think about how you’re living your own life.” —1776 Books

 

“Inspiring readers with a feel similar to Eat, Pray, Love, the story weaves a journey of self-growth with a meaningful reminder that the heart always knows which path is right.” —RT Book Reviews

 

“An entertaining read that is sure to inspire you and motivate you in your own search for passion and purpose, THE LIGHT OF HIDDEN FLOWERS delivers for readers in a big way.” —Cyrus Webb, BlogTalkRadio

 

“As Missy Fletcher turns thirty-five, she’s faced with a crippling loss and the return of her first and only love.  She must decide her future by choosing between what she’s always done or what she’s always wanted to do.  If you enjoyed Jennifer Handford’s first two novels, you will love this one.” —Barbara Esstman, Author of The Other Anna, Night Ride Home, and Sure Thing

 

“The beauty of thought leaves you searching your own dreams.” —blogcritics.org

 

“Handford gives us a female protagonist we can be proud of, and admire, whose emotions never overshadow her feminism or her fighting for things that she believes are right and just – both for herself and for others.” —Davida Chavan’s Book Reviews

 

Reviews for Daughters for a Time

“A wrenching, resonant debut about infertility, cancer and adoption.  Grab your hankies.”  —People Magazine

“[DAUGHTERS] has touched a nerve.”  –Washington Post

“Equally heartfelt and hopeful, DAUGHTERS FOR A TIME is a powerful exploration of what it means to be a mother, a sister, a daughter. Tender and poignant, Handford weaves a captivatingly honest story that will have you smiling and weeping throughout – often within the same paragraph.”  –Heather Gudenkauf, bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

“Handford tells Helen’s tale with freshness and perception, creating a novel that—much like one of the desserts Helen finds comfort in making—is sweet but substantial, and composed of everyday ingredients elevated by skill and attention.”  –Martha Moody, bestselling author of Best Friends

“Helen is the rare protagonist who manages to confront her past, face her fears, and exhibit grace in the face of calamity…while retaining believability and humanity…” –Publishers Weekly

“So polished I can’t believe it’s her first novel.”  –Bill Thompson, Eye on Books

“DAUGHTERS FOR A TIME is a brutally honest but captivating peek at the powerful hold human connections and the pursuit of motherhood can have on the human spirit….A story filled with the truths of compassion, dedication and losses many of us must face in life… [It] will draw you in and have you rooting for [protagonist] Helen Francis.” –Kay Bratt, Author of Silent Tears: A Journey of Hope in a Chinese Orphanage

[DAUGHTERS] will definitely tug on your heartstrings.  Fiction readers who don’t mind tough subjects will enjoy this book.”  –4-Stars – A Bookish Affair

“Readers will appreciate this well written character study as grief is customized and a loving family helps each other move on.”  —Genre Go Round Reviews

“Poignant, penetrating, and full of raw emotional power, it’s a heart-wrenching tale of a woman who must face the joys and sorrows of life as she struggles to find her place as a mother, sister, daughter, and wife.” –She Knows

“Handford has created a believable scenario of a woman coming to grips with heartache….”  –Color Magazine

“Jennifer Handford’s debut novel Daughters for a Time is a poignant, beautiful and at times heartbreaking read.”  –The Reading Frenzy

“Beautiful, beautiful love story.  It will genuinely touch your heart.”  –Jinky is Reading

 

Reviews for Acts of Contrition

“Jennifer Handford’s ACTS OF CONTRITION smartly imagines the inner life of a wife and mother caught in the cogs of a political scandal. A powerfully intimate tale that illuminates how our past relationships mold and transform us into who we become. — Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence, These Things Hidden & One Breath Away.

“This swift, satisfying read is like perching at the kitchen counter with your best girlfriend and best bottle of red – provided your BFF is a D.C.-area mom who’s a riveting storyteller and can’t escape her ex because he’s running for Senate and all over TV. Curling up with Contrition is like trying on a tight, sexy dress from my 20s. I’ll never wear it again, but it’s fun to look back.” –People.com.